WELCOME

POLK FRIENDS

Upcoming events

Upcoming events

    • Saturday, December 15, 2018
    • 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
    • 12031 Lancaster Hwy, Pineville NC
    • 15
    Register


    Look, listen, and make at the museum!  Come with your child to hear "Llama Llama Holiday Drama" by Anna Dewdney read aloud.  Then craft an ornament for your holiday tree. Recommended for pre-K through 1st grade.

    Hours: 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

    Admission: $5.00 per child, includes all craft materials

    • Saturday, December 15, 2018
    • 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
    • 12031 Lancaster Hwy, Pineville NC
    Register


    Come craft your own fun and festive holiday ornaments with us!  We'll provide the materials, and you provide your creative touch.  Create one or two of your very own ornaments to take home: a miniature wreath and/or a wood slice ornament.  Keep an eye on our social media for some examples leading up to the event! Pre-Registration will be available, remaining slots will be available on a first come, first serve basis for drop-in visitors the day of.

    Hours: 2:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.

    Admission: $5.00 for one ornament or $8.00 for two

    • Saturday, January 05, 2019
    • 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
    • 12031 Lancaster Hwy, Pineville NC
    • 15
    Register


    Ron Vinson, Executive Director of the Presbyterian Heritage Center in Montreat, NC, will discuss the origin and prominence of Twelfth Night from its medieval continental origins through Shakespeare's 1602 play, to observances in Colonial Carolinas.

    Once the annual peak of parties, gift-giving, and even weddings, the festivities surrounding Twelfth Night gradually disappeared over the last two centuries. Yet hints of this once ubiquitous holiday remain in our present day celebrations.

    Mr. Vinson's presentation will include illustrations and the opportunity to hear medieval carols and colonial tunes about the celebration of Twelfth Night. Plus, get a taste of the holiday spirit with a slice of King Cake.

    Hours: 11:00 am – 12:00 pm

    Admission: FREE

Past events

Saturday, November 17, 2018 Festive Autumn Basket Weaving Workshop
Saturday, November 10, 2018 President Polk Birthday Celebration
Saturday, November 03, 2018 Natural Dyes Workshop
Saturday, October 27, 2018 Ribbon Chatelaine Workshop
Saturday, October 20, 2018 *Cancelled* Cinnamon Broom Workshop
Saturday, October 13, 2018 Make Your Own Dolls Workshop
Saturday, October 06, 2018 John Holtzapple Reception
Saturday, October 06, 2018 John Holtzapple Public Lecture
Saturday, August 11, 2018 Bubble Day 2018
Saturday, July 28, 2018 DIY Loom and Basic Weaving Workshop
Saturday, July 14, 2018 Simple Basket Weaving
Saturday, June 30, 2018 Introduction to Drop Spinning
Saturday, June 23, 2018 Apron-Making Workshop
Saturday, June 02, 2018 *CANCELLED* Gathering Gourmet: An Introduction to Wild Edibles
Saturday, May 05, 2018 The Historic Southern Kitchen: A Class on the Old Southern Way of Cooking
Saturday, April 21, 2018 How the Other 90% Ate: The Roots and Reality of "Southern Poverty Food"
Saturday, March 10, 2018 Coffee and Conversation || Café y Conversación
Saturday, February 24, 2018 Volunteer Open House
Saturday, February 17, 2018 President's Day Special Event: The Shifting Landscape of Memorialization in Modern America
Saturday, February 03, 2018 Utilizing Film To Better Understand Historical Trauma in the African-American Community

Friends of President Polk's Birthplace, Inc. is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. PO Box 475, Pineville, NC 28134

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software